Congress of Future Medical Leaders Inspires Budding Doctors and Bio-Scientists

The Congress of Future Medial Leaders is an honors-only program for high school students who want to become physicians or go into medical research fields.

Nominations are being made for the November 14-16, 2014, Congress of Future Medical Leaders to be held in Washington, DC.

The Congress is an honors-only program for high school students who want to become physicians or go into medical research fields. The purpose of this event is to honor, inspire, motivate and direct the top students in the country who aspire to be physicians or medical scientists, to stay true to their dream and, after the event, to provide a path, plan and resources to help them reach their goal.

Students are nominated by Dr. Connie Mariano, the Medical Director of the National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists or by high school teachers across the country based on a student’s academic achievement, leadership potential and determination to serve humanity in the field of medicine. Students attending must have a GPA of 3.5 or better (either cumulative or current).

During the three-day Congress, Congress scholars will join other students from across the country and hear Nobel Laureates and National Medal of Science winners talk about leading medical research; be given advice from top medical school deans on what is to be expected in medical school; witness stories told by patients who are living medical miracles; be inspired by fellow teen medical science prodigies; and learn about cutting-edge advances and the future in medicine and medical technology.
The November Congress comes on the heels of the highly successful February 2014 Congress of Future Medical Leaders. See a 3-minute highlight video at

The young people at the February 2014 Congress were inspired by luminaries of the medical field as well as leaders from government and the public sector, including:
- Dr. Craig Venter, Winner of the 2008 President’s National Medal of Science
- Dr. Mario Capecchi, Winner of the 2007 Noble Prize in Medicine
- Dr. Jack Szostak, Winner of the 2009 Noble Prize in Medicine
- Ray Mitchell, MD, MBA, Dean for Medical Education at Georgetown University
- Also included were some of our finest young scientists: Jack Andraka, 2012 Intel Science Fair Grand Prize Winner; Brittany Wenger, 2012 Google Science Fair Winner; Shree Bose, 2011 Google Science Fair Winner; and Janelle Tam, 2012 Sanofi BioGENEius Challenge Canada, among others.

“This is a crucial time in America when we need more doctors and medical scientists who are even better prepared for a future that is changing exponentially,” said Richard Rossi, Executive Director, National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists. “These focused, bright and determined students are our future and they deserve all the mentoring and guidance we can give them.”

The Academy offers free services and programs to students who want to be physicians or go into medical science. Some of the services and programs the Academy plans to launch in 2014 and 2015 are online social networks through which future doctors and medical scientists can communicate; opportunities for students to be guided and mentored by physicians and medical students; and communications for parents and students on college acceptance and finances, skills acquisition, internships, career guidance and much more.

The National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists was founded on the belief that we must identify prospective medical talent at the earliest possible age and help these students acquire the necessary experience and skills to take them to the doorstep of this vital career. Based in Washington, D.C., the Academy was chartered as a nonpartisan, taxpaying institution to help address this crisis by working to identify, encourage and mentor students who wish to devote their lives to the service of humanity as physicians, medical scientists, technologists, engineers and mathematicians. Learn more at

Release ID: 54000