2015 IAWTV Award Winners Revealed

Awards in 34 categories were handed out at a ceremony in Las Vegas as part of NAB Show, at the 4th Annual IAWTV Awards presented by NMX.

The music series Player Piano and the Argentinian Sci-Fi saga Daemonium topped the winners at the 4th Annual IAWTV Awards. Player Piano took home awards for cinematography, Directing in Non-Fiction, and Sound, while Daemonium landed  Visual F/X, Makeup and the award for Best Non-English Series.

Other multiple-awards winners included Out With Dad and it’s spinoff Vanessa’s Story, who took home the Ensemble Drama and Female Performance awards, Real Housewives of Horror which took awards for its comedic ensemble and for Best Comedy, God Particles which took Female Comedy Performance and Micro-Budget Series, and Whatever, Linda, which took Directing in a Drama and Best Drama Series.

The awards, which were hosted by Tony and SAG winner Roger Bart, brought together content creators and performers from all around the world to the ceremony in Las Vegas, which was held at the Westgate Hotel and presented by NMX as part of NAB Show.

Beth Riesgraf (Leverage), presenting the award for Best Drama, noted that the word “drama” comes from Greek origins meaning “to do”, and that is just what the creators honored at the awards had done. An opening musical number which featured stars of the web joining Bart on stage, was appropriately named, “You Can Do it on the Web”.

Audience favorite moments from the show, which was also streamed on YouTube, include Sandeep Parikh (The Guild) who confused the meaning of Best Live Host with that of an alien parasite inhabiting a body, noting that he felt the award should have gone to John Hurt. When he went on to present Best Pre-Recorded Host, he noted, “That makes more sense to me now.”

Josh Robert Thompson, known as the sidekick robot skeleton on Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson, delighted the crowd by presenting awards as a spot on Morgan Freeman and Robert DeNiro.

Larry King, by way of video, presented the award for Documentary or Educational Series, noting that today’s stories are being told by people like you on the web.

Jane Espenson, known for penning Once Upon a Time, along with episodes of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, joined her Husbands co-creator Brad Bell with a lyrical twist that resulted in a prat fall that captured both the intellectual and physical elements of comedy.

Finally, the show’s director, Jenn Page, presented an award for directing, and quipped to the winner, Sean Becker, that he was taking too long to reach the stage and was “ruining her show”.

Chairman of the IAWTV Jeff Burns, and Executive Director of the Awards, Jonathan Robbins, delivered a joint speech championing web creators everywhere, noting that the awards were about more than just the nominees, but about the entire community. Given the friendly and gracious vibe that was observed on the red carpet by Broadcast Beat Magazine, it would appear they were right.

For more coverage of the IAWTV Awards, see The Snobby Robot.

For a complete list of winners, see IAWTV Award Winners

Contact Info:
Name: Deborah Cole / Rick Calvert
Email: pr@nmxevents.com
Phone: (702) 216 5859
Organization: New Media Expo

Source URL: http://www.prreach.com/pr/17318

Release ID: 80609