Winners Announced in L. Ron Hubbard Illustrators of the Future Contest

Third Quarter 2017 Winners Selected from Finalist Group

The 3rd Quarter winners of the 29th year of the international contest, L. Ron Hubbard Illustrators of the Future, were announced today by the contest administrators.

Out of the 8 finalists from around the world, three were chosen as winners.


Alana Fletcher from Vermont

Maksym Polishchuk from Ukraine

Jazmen Richardson of Florida

Alana is currently a student at Ferris State University in Michigan. She is studying mastering the art of story telling through illustrations and in concept art.

Maksym is studying art and considers himself a renaissance man, in that he is also a student of architecture and music. A fellow student in his art class suggested that he enter the contest.

Jazmen is currently a student at the Ringling College of Art and Design in Florida and entered the contest on the advice of a former contest winner Dustin Panzino.

As winners, they are awarded a week-long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future. They will additionally receive a cash prize for their win this quarter.

A Grand Prize winner is announced at the annual awards ceremony, which will be held next April in Los Angeles and is selected by another panel of judges. The winners of the 4 quarters of the contest will compete, twelve winners in all, for the grand prize of $5,000.

Contest judges include award winning artists Robert Castillo, Echo Chernik, Lazarus Chernik, Ciruelo, Vincent DiFate, Laura Freas Beraha, Diane Dillon, Dave Dorman, Bob Eggleton, Larry Elmore, Val Lakey Lindahn, Stephan Martiniere, Gary Meyer, Mike Perkins, Sergey Poyarkov, Rob Prior, Shaun Tan and Stephen Youll.

For more information about the Illustrators of the Future contest and how to enter, go to or call the contest director Joni Labaqui at 323-466-3310.

Release ID: 243001