Winners Announced in International L. Ron Hubbard Illustrators Contest

Second Quarter 2017 Winners Selected from Talented Finalist Group

The 2nd Quarter winners of the 29th year of the international contest, L. Ron Hubbard Illustrators of the Future, were announced today by the contest administrators.

Out of the 8 finalists from around the world, three were chosen as winners.


Adar Darnov from New Jersey Reyna Rochin from Georgia Brenda Rodriguez from Indiana

“This was a very strong quarter, lots of talented illustrators are entering,” contest judge Echo Chernik said.

As winners, they are awarded a week-long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future. They will additionally receive a cash prize for their win this quarter.

A Grand Prize winner is announced at the annual awards ceremony, which will be held next April in Los Angeles and is selected by another panel of judges. The winners of the 4 quarters of the contest will compete, twelve winners in all, for the grand prize of $5,000.00.

Contest judges include award winning artists Robert Castillo, Echo Chernik, Lazarus Chernik, Ciruelo, Vincent DiFate, Laura Freas Beraha, Diane Dillon, Dave Dorman, Bob Eggleton, Larry Elmore, Val Lakey Lindahn, Stephan Martiniere, Gary Meyer, Mike Perkins, Sergey Poyarkov, Rob Prior, Shaun Tan and Stephen Youll.

The Illustrators of the Future contest is a very economical means for aspiring artists to make their brake in the publishing industry, which is well known for being difficult for the newcomer. It is free to enter and anyone at any age from any country are eligible to enter. Joni Labaqui, the Contest Director, announced that entries to the contest have come in from 150 countries over the last 29 years.

“A culture is as rich and capable of surviving as it has imaginative artists.” — L. Ron Hubbard

For more information about the contest, go to

Release ID: 226512